Tolkien Gateway


(Difference between revisions)
(Correcting the explanation of Yorkshire's ridings - I'm not sure what the Gloucester farthings are?)
Line 14: Line 14:
* {{WP|Riding (division)}}
* {{WP|Riding (division)}}
[[Category:Divisions of the Shire]]

Revision as of 21:10, 1 September 2010

'"How came you by it?" — Thorin
This article includes a list of references, but its sources remain unclear because it lacks inline citations. Please improve this article by introducing more precise citations where appropriate.

The four Farthings were four of the five (later six) divisions of the Shire. They were known simply as Northfarthing, Westfarthing, Southfarthing and Eastfarthing. The Westron word was Tharni, the Sindarin word (presumably) Canath.


The four Farthings of the Shire were based on the three traditional Ridings of Yorkshire (North, West and East).

"Farthing" was used in Gloucestershire. Tolkien does not mention this in Nomenclature, but it is likely he knew of its existence as his wife Edith Bratt was born in Gloucestershire.