Tolkien Gateway


(Difference between revisions)
m (Removing "only explicit reference" as they appear in the Etymologies as well (albeit only as a translated word))
m (removing speculation)
Line 11: Line 11:
|distinctions=Fire-breathing; later with wings
|distinctions=Fire-breathing; later with wings
|lifespan=Perhaps immortal
|members=[[Glaurung]], [[Ancalagon]], [[Smaug]]
|members=[[Glaurung]], [[Ancalagon]], [[Smaug]]

Revision as of 01:18, 12 December 2010

"Who told you, and who sent you?" — Gandalf
This article or section needs more/new/more-detailed sources to conform to a higher standard and to provide proof for claims made.
General Information
MembersGlaurung, Ancalagon, Smaug
Physical Description
DistinctionsFire-breathing; later with wings

"…the fire-drakes of the North, issued from Angband's gates by night."[1]

Fire-drakes (Quenya Urulóki) were fire breathing Dragons.

History and Characteristics

The fire-drakes were the more powerful of the two fundamental divisions of dragon-kind (the other being the cold-drakes), who, as the name suggests, were able to breathe fire. Glaurung, the Father of Dragons, was the first of the species.[1] He first appeared in the middle of the First Age but the Urulóki were known to have survived even after the downfall of Morgoth. Other dragons considered to be of the fire-drakes during the Elder Days were Ancalagon and the terrible Beast of Gondolin.

Smaug, the last of the truly powerful dragons, was slain by Bard in the late Third Age.[2] We can be sure that he was not the last of the fire-drakes, though, because Gandalf refers to fire-breathing dragons in the time before the War of the Ring, nearly eighty years after Smaug's death.


  1. 1.0 1.1 J.R.R. Tolkien, Christopher Tolkien (ed.), The Silmarillion, "Quenta Silmarillion: Of the Return of the Noldor"
  2. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Hobbit, passim