Tolkien Gateway


(Difference between revisions)
(some tweaks)
m (Etymology)
Line 7: Line 7:
The name ''Narya'' is [[Quenya]], deriving from the elements ''[[narwa]]'' "fiery red"  + ''[[ya]]'' adjective suffix).
The name ''Narya'' is [[Quenya]], deriving from the elements ''[[narwa]]'' "fiery red"  + ''[[ya]]'' (adjective suffix).
As an adjective, the plural form of ''narya'' is ''naryë''.
As an adjective, the plural form of ''narya'' is ''naryë''.

Revision as of 22:40, 18 August 2011

Narya as conceived by The Noble Collection

Narya (pron. [ˈnarʲa]), the Ring of Fire or Red Ring, was one of the Rings of Power, specifically one of the "Three Rings for the Elven Kings under the sky".


Created by Celebrimbor after Annatar had left Eregion, it was free of Annatar's (Sauron's) influence due to the fact that the Elves hid their three rings from him upon discerning his intent, but it was still bound to the One Ring. According to Unfinished Tales, at the start of the War of the Elves and Sauron Celebrimbor gave Narya together with the Ring Vilya to Gil-galad, High King of the Noldor. Gil-galad entrusted Narya to his lieutenant Círdan, Lord of the Havens of Mithlond, who kept it after Gil-galad's death. In The Lord of the Rings, Gil-galad receives only Vilya, while Círdan receives Narya from the very beginning. In the Third Age Círdan gave the ring to Gandalf for his labours. It is described as having the power to inspire others to resist tyranny, as well as (in common with the other Three Rings) hiding the wielder from remote observation (except by the wielder of the One) and giving resistance to the weariness of time:

"Take this ring, master," he said, "for your labours will be heavy; but it will support you in the weariness that you have taken upon yourself. For this is the Ring of Fire, and with it you may rekindle hearts in a world that grows chill."
Círdan the Shipwright[1]


The name Narya is Quenya, deriving from the elements narwa "fiery red" + ya (adjective suffix).

As an adjective, the plural form of narya is naryë.


  1. J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings, Appendix B, "The Third Age"

 Rings of Power 
The One Ring
Three Rings
(Narya · Nenya · Vilya)
Seven Rings
(Ring of Thrór)
Nine Rings